Never try seven in Sweden

While Im focusing on Cruise news, I just have to recomend reading the Stockholm Cruise blog. On june 1 Ralph Grizzle writes about learning swedish and he tells us about why he doesn't say seven: 

"For the foreign tongue, however, even saying seven is simply too much of a mouthful. It’s true that most foreigners have no trouble pronouncing the number six, which is pronounced  “sex.” But the number seven, sju, sounds like little more than exhaling air, impossible for the non-native Swede to pronounce properly.

So that I never have to say sju, I make it a point not to accept seven of anything. Seven tomatoes? No, I reply, I’ll take sex instead. For the foreign tongue, however, even saying seven is simply too much of a mouthful. It’s true that most foreigners have no trouble pronouncing the number six, which is “sex.” But the number seven, sju, sounds like little more than exhaling air, impossible for the non-native Swede to pronounce properly.

So that I never have to say sju, I make it a point not to accept seven of anything. Seven tomatoes? No, I reply, I’ll take sex instead, which often gets me a curious look."


Kommentarer
Postat av: Hudterapeut Stockholm

I agree, seven is sooo hard to pronounce in Swedish! I don't get it, "sju".. it doesn't look that hard when you see it spelled out..

2010-06-14 @ 02:31:27
URL: http://www.hudterapeutstockholm.se/
Postat av: Magnus

It's even a problem for us from Norrland :)

2010-06-14 @ 13:10:38
URL: http://www.stockholmshotell.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0